Announcing the 2020 Class of Presidential Leadership Scholars

Josephine Owoeye

PIKEVILLE, Ky. – The Presidential Leadership Scholars (PLS) Program announced that Josephine Owoeye, DO, assistant dean for student and professional development at Pikeville University – Kentucky College of Optometry, has been selected as one of 60 scholars chosen for the program’s sixth annual class. PLS serves as a catalyst for a diverse network of leaders coming together to collaborate and make a difference in the world as they learn about leadership through the lens of the presidential experiences of George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George HW Bush, and Lyndon B. Johnson.

The sixth class was selected after a rigorous application and review process. Fellows were selected based on their potential for leadership growth and personal leadership projects aimed at enhancing civic engagement or social good by addressing an issue or need in their community.

Over the course of six months, fellows will travel to each participating presidential center to learn from former presidents, key former administration officials, business and civic leaders, and leading academics. They will study and practice various leadership approaches and exchange ideas to help strengthen their impact in their communities. The program kicks off in Washington, DC on January 28.

The latest class joins an active network of 298 fellows who are applying lessons learned through the program to make a difference in the United States and around the world. Examples of such academic-led efforts include providing jobs and mentoring to veterans, helping judged youth improve their job skills and build a positive self-image, empowering clinicians to speak with patients about the safe storage of firearms and the deployment of much-needed resources in wake. of natural disasters.

Since the program began in 2015, fellows have consistently reported remarkable growth in leadership skills, responsibilities, and opportunities for impact. For example, 91% of fellows indicated that their sense of confidence or purpose as a leader had changed since starting the PLS, and 96% of fellows indicated that their exposure to and appreciation of a greater variety of perspectives had increased since the start of the PLS.

2020 scholarship holders:

  • Elizabeth AdamsSenior Director of Innovation, Entergy, New Orleans, Louisiana;
  • Gayatri Agnew, senior manager, Walmart, Bentonville, Ark. ;
  • Anand Annamalaipresident, House Medicine, Hermosa Beach, Calif.;
  • justin barraDirector, Education, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, Alameda, Calif.;
  • Michael BenedossoHead of Business Development and Partnerships for AR/VR, Google, Palo Alto, CA;
  • Ganesh BetanabhatlaManaging Partner and Chief Investment Officer, Ramas Capital Management, Houston, Texas;
  • Rachel BrownSenior Policy Advisor, Bureau of Reclamation, Washington, DC;
  • Karen CaruthDirector of Business Development, Inteleos, McLean, Va.;
  • Yoon Choimanaging director, CollegeSpring, San Francisco, Calif.;
  • Michael Cooperjournalist and lawyer, self-employed, Raleigh, North Carolina;
  • Paul DaughertyPresident and CEO, Philanthropy West Virginia, Inc., Morgantown, W.Va.;
  • Sloane Davidsonfounder and CEO of Hello Neighbor, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania;
  • Desiree de la TorreDirector, Community Affairs and Population Health Improvement, Children’s National Hospital, Chevy Chase, Md.;
  • Marc DeBuseemergency physician, US Navy, Los Altos, Calif.;
  • Maria DeChellisVice President, Customer Engagement, Utilligent, Roswell, Georgia;
  • Mike Dovillepresident, The Dovilla Group, Berea, Ohio;
  • David Duondirector, Program In Global Primary Care and Social Change, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Mass.;
  • Rebecca Feickertco-founder, Trey Athletes, Irving, TX;
  • Paul Fermoassociate vice president, The Cohen Group, Pennington, NJ;
  • Amy Fiedlercardiac surgeon, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin;
  • Jarrod FranksJudge Advocate, US Navy, Washington DC;
  • Pellagia Gambizaexecutive director, Shine on Sierra Leone, Celina, Texas;
  • Adam Gilberton, Vice President, RDO Equipment Co., Laurel, Mont. ;
  • Hannah Gordonexecutive director and general counsel, San Francisco 49ers, Santa Clara, Calif.;
  • Monica Gorman, Vice President, Responsible Leadership and Global Compliance, New Balance Athletics, Inc., Winchester, Mass. ;
  • Jodie GrenierExecutive Director, Foundation for Women Warriors, Carlsbad, Calif.;
  • Al GuarnieriSupervisory Special Agent, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Washington, DC;
  • Reshma GuptaMedical Director of Value and Population Care, University of California Health, Sacramento, Calif.;
  • Hae Sung Hanco-founder and managing director, POETIC, Frisco, Texas;
  • jerry hawkinsexecutive director, Dallas Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation, Dallas, TX;
  • Kristen HerringProject Officer, Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, Dumfries, Virginia;
  • Reda HicksFounder and CEO, GotSpot, Inc., Humble, TX;
  • Jin Ya Huangfounder of Break Bread, Break Borders, Dallas, TX;
  • Heather Icord, Human Systems Manager, Defense Engagement Team, Defense Innovation Unit, Boston, Mass. ;
  • Chris Jones, Executive Director, Arkansas Regional Innovation Hub, Little Rock, Ark. ;
  • Marie-KimPresident and CEO, Cara, Chicago, Illinois;
  • Priti Krishtelco-founder and co-executive director, Initiative for Medicines, Access, & Knowledge, Oakland, Calif.;
  • Amy KrollFounder and Executive Director, LBJ Women’s Campaign School, LBJ School of Public Affairs, University of Texas at Austin, San Antonio, TX;
  • Dwayne Leslievice president and chief compliance officer, Adventist HealthCare, Silver Spring, Md.;
  • Shareefah MasonDistinguished Teacher, Dallas Independent School District, Dallas, Texas;
  • Adam McGoughActing Deputy Mayor, City of Dallas, Dallas, Texas;
  • Rasheed Meadows, Vice President, TNTP, Jamaica Plain, Mass. ;
  • Brett Mosherpastor of Community Ministries and executive director of New Braunfels Christian Ministries, Oakwood Baptist Church, New Braunfels, Texas;
  • Josephine OwoeyeAssistant Dean for Student and Professional Development, University of Pikeville – Kentucky College of Optometry, Pikeville, Ky.;
  • Josh Portzernaval ship’s officer, US Navy, Norfolk, Va.;
  • Zach PosnerManaging Partner,, Pikesville, Maryland;
  • Jon Michael Rosmannpresident and CEO, SafeNetRX, Polk City, Iowa;
  • Johanna Rousseauattorney, Jones Day, Miami Shores, Fla.;
  • Dasheika RuffinSouthern Regional Director, American Civil Liberties Union, Atlanta, Georgia;
  • Tami SilvermanPresident and CEO, Indiana Youth Institute, Zionsville, Indiana;
  • jimmy stanonSenior Assistant Director of Athletics, Communications, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon;
  • Kelly StormerChief Operating Officer, National Association of Veterans Serving Organizations (NAVSO), Newtown, Pennsylvania;
  • Boryana Straubel, Executive Director, Straubel Foundation, Woodside, CA. ;
  • Raymond Tsaimedical director, The Wonderful Company, Paso Robles, Calif.;
  • Uma Vaidyanathan, Head of Research and Innovation, National Institute of Mental Health; Washington D.C.;
  • Samir VohraFounding Chair, Department of Population Science and Policy, Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, Springfield, Illinois;
  • Alison Williams, Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor of Arkansas, Little Rock, Ark. ;
  • Marvin WilmothManaging Director and Co-Founder, Generation Development Group, North Bay Village, Florida;
  • Dea WrightDirector, Office of Early Childhood Initiatives, City of Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wis.;
  • Catherine YoungExecutive Director, SHEPHERD Foundation, Alexandra, Va.

Kevin E. Boling