Announcing the Class of 2022 Presidential Leadership Scholars

January 18, 2022 – The Presidential Leadership Scholars (PLS) program today named the 60 Scholars who will form the program’s seventh annual class. PLS serves as a catalyst for a diverse network of leaders coming together to collaborate and create meaningful change in the United States and around the world as they learn about leadership through the lens of the presidential experiences of George W. Bush, William J. Clinton , George HW Bush and Lyndon B. Johnson.

The seventh class was selected after a rigorous application and review process. Fellows were chosen based on their potential for leadership growth and the strength of their personal leadership projects aimed at enhancing civic or social good by addressing a critical challenge or need in a community, profession, or organization.

Over the course of several months, fellows will learn from past presidents, former key administration officials, and leading scholars. They will study and practice various leadership approaches and develop a network of peers who can help them make an impact in their communities. The program starts practically on January 18.

The latest class joins an active network of more than 350 fellows who are applying lessons learned from the program to make a difference in the communities they serve. Examples of these academic-led efforts include narrowing the opportunities that exist around early childhood education, healthy communities, and entrepreneurship within the Hispanic community; provide employment and mentoring opportunities for veterans; and deploying much-needed resources globally in the wake of COVID-19.

Since the program began in 2015, fellows have consistently reported remarkable growth in skills, responsibilities, and opportunities for impact. For example, 96% of fellows reported significant growth in their sense of purpose and role since starting the PLS.

2022 scholarship holders:

  • Tara Abrahams, Impact Manager, The Meteor, New York, NY
  • Sara Allan, Director, Early Learning & Education Pathways, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Seattle, WA
  • Mozhgan Wafiq Alokozai, CEO and Founder, Eagle Online Academy, Chantilly, VA
  • Riana Elyse Anderson, Assistant Professor, University of Michigan School of Public Health, Detroit, MI
  • Liany Arroyo, Director, Department of Health and Human Services, City of Hartford, Hartford, CT
  • Jacqueline Assar, VR/AR Developer Relations Manager, Meta, Sausalito, CA
  • Chethan Bachireddy, Chief Medical Officer, Virginia Medicaid, Henrico, VA
  • Sara Fenske Bahat, President, California College of the Arts and Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco, CA
  • David Bargueño, Foreign Service Officer, US Department of State, Washington, DC
  • David Bernstein, Resident Physician in Orthopedic Surgery, Harvard Combined Orthopedic Residency Program/ Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
  • Michael Burris, Operations Manager, Cortland, Raleigh, NC
  • Heath Clayton, Head of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, JPMorgan Chase & Co., New York, NY
  • Frances Colón, Director, Oboe Mobile Foundation Inc., San Juan, PR
  • Rabia de Latour, gastroenterologist/therapeutic endoscopist; Director of Endoscopy, Center Hospitalier Bellevue; Assistant Professor of Medicine, New York University Grossman School of Medicine, New York, NY
  • Ian Eishen, Senior Engaged Chief, CSAF Strategic Studies Group, US Air Force, Fairfax, VA
  • Ntiedo Etuk, Founder and CEO, FitGrid, New York, NY
  • Venu Gupta, President, VGA Consultancy, Chicago, IL
  • Ed Han, Managing Director, Global Investment Banking, BofA Securities Inc., Montauk, NY
  • Donnie Hasseltine, Director of Security, Xenon Partners, Redwood City, CA
  • James Hendon, Commissioner, NYC Department of Veterans’ Services, Bronx, NY
  • Hana Hinkle, Acting Director and Department Head, University of Illinois College of Medicine, Loves Park, Illinois
  • Rosie Hunter, Psychologist, Xefatura Consulting, McKinney, TX
  • Dan Imbat, Senior Business Development Manager, Shield AI, San Diego, CA
  • Corrine Irish, Pro Bono Counsel/Of Counsel, Squire Patton Boggs LLP, New York, NY
  • Jennifer Jacobs, CEO, Connect Our Kids, Falls Church, Virginia
  • Timothy James, President, The Lenny Zakim Fund and Vice President of North American Consultant Relations, State Street Bank, Ashland, MA
  • Victor Jones, Attorney, NAACP Legal Defense & Education Fund Inc., New Orleans, LA
  • Aamina Awan-Khan, Senior Advisor, US Department of State, New York, NY
  • Amrit Kirpalani, Founder and CEO, NectarOM, Dallas, TX
  • Wade Lairsen, President, Gen Next Foundation, San Francisco, CA
  • Tim Latimer, CEO, Fervo Energy, Austin, TX
  • Jin Lee, Director of Digital Health, Astellas Pharma Inc., San Francisco, CA
  • Linui Li, Advisor and Community Manager,, Philadelphia, PA
  • Elisabeth Avila Luevanos, Superintendent, Milan Independent School District, Waco, TX
  • Aila Malik, Founder and Co-Director, Venture Leadership Consulting, Mountain View, CA
  • Melissa Martinez, Clinical Social Worker, Human Trafficking Response Unit, Manhattan District Attorney’s Office, New York, NY
  • Anna Mason, Managing Partner, Revolution’s Rise of the Rest Seed Fund, Washington, DC
  • Yasmina McCarty, CEO and President, New Growth Innovation Network, Miami, FL
  • Marsha Michel, Advisor, Rohingya Refugee Response, United States Agency for International Development, Washington, DC
  • Crystal Moore, Vice President, Strategic Partnerships, Strategic Education, Jackson, MS
  • Kelly Northridge, Managing Partner, Audacity Institute, Reno, NV
  • Brian O’Connor, Director, Veteran Enhanced Technology Solutions, Granite Bay, CA
  • Justin Owen, CEO, Beacon Center of Tennessee, Nashville, TN
  • Sabs Quereshi, Director, Global Health Strategy, Rockefeller Foundation, Washington, DC
  • Anita Ravi, CEO and Co-Founder, PurpLE Health Foundation, New York, NY
  • Benjamin Reynolds, Director of Advanced Practices, UPMC, Edgewood, PA
  • Michelle Richart, Director, General Counsel, Cardinal Group Companies, Colorado Springs, CO
  • Andy Riise, Texas A&M University Program Director, National Security Network, Montgomery, TX
  • Daniel Roby, CEO, Austin Street Center, Dallas, TX
  • Aasim Saeed, CEO and Founder, Amenity Health, Dallas, TX
  • Takudzwa Shumba, Clinical Assistant Professor, Stanford Health Care, Menlo Park, CA
  • Maya Smith, Executive Director, Born This Way Foundation, Lafayette, CA
  • Steven Smith, Client Director, McKinsey & Company, Austin, TX
  • McKenzie Snow, Division Director, New Hampshire Department of Education, Concord, NH
  • Ben Teague, Vice President of Strategic Development, Biltmore Farms LLC, Fletcher, NC
  • Iris Tian, ​​Executive Director of Assessment, Texas Education Agency, Austin, TX
  • Esther Hsu Wang, Co-Founder, IDinsight, Potomac, MD
  • Sacha Williams, Pediatric Surgical Researcher, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Ossining, NY
  • Diana Zhang, CEO and Co-Founder, NeighborShare, Westport, CT
  • Lourdes Zuniga, Executive Director, Financial Health Pathways, Pflugerville, TX


About the Presidential Leadership Scholars

The Presidential Leadership Scholars program is a partnership between the Presidential Centers of George W. Bush, William J. Clinton, George HW Bush, and Lyndon B. Johnson. To learn more, visit For updates on Presidential Leadership Scholars, use #PLScholars and follow @PLSprogram on Twitter and Instagram.

Kevin E. Boling