WSU honors Presidential Leadership Award winners – WSU Insider


A talented and dedicated group of more than 60 students, faculty and staff at Washington State University have received the Presidential Leadership Award (LEAD).

The winners include 44 undergraduate students and 10 graduate students and professionals who possess an impressive array of leadership experiences. Their specializations range from bioengineering and agriculture to wildlife ecology and viticulture.

They were recognized along with three student organizations and a community organization in a virtual celebration on Tuesday, April 21, in which WSU President Kirk Schulz and First Lady Noel delivered congratulations.

“I feel so honored to win this award and to have my work recognized on a level that goes beyond the Tri-Cities,” said senior Evan Foraker. “He brings light in these dark times. “

Among his many activities on the Tri-Cities campus, Foraker has served as a student mentor, performance programmer and outreach specialist with the Student Entertainment Board, and graphic design and marketing assistant for the Office of Student Life.

“I’ve learned that the best dogs on campus aren’t the only ones with a voice,” Foraker said. “By being myself and sticking to my values, the development of my personality and my leadership has become a place of true service and happiness. “

Haley Donovan

Haley Donovan, a nursing student at WSU Spokane, similarly talks about the opportunities she’s had to make a positive difference at the satellite health sciences campus in Yakima. There, she served as Yakima’s director of campus relations, managed the pantry, and helped create a gymnasium grant for YMCA students.

“This year has been pivotal in shaping my career goals and I would love to take on leadership roles in my profession after I graduate in May,” said Donovan, who aspires to be a nurse in the nursing unit. intensive care.

The WSU faculty and staff who received LEAD awards included Ting Chi, professor and graduate coordinator in clothing merchandising and digital technology; Janessa Graves, Associate Professor and Director of the Office of Information Management and Associate Dean of Undergraduate and Community Research; Debra Hansen, professor and director of Stevens County Extension; Jamie Holden, director of the plant growth faculty in the Department of Horticulture; Davi Kallman, Access Center Access Advisor; and Jane Lanigan, professor of human development.

Registered student organizations that received recognition included the Shark Conservation Club, the Crimson Group, and the Society of Women Engineers. The Colfax Food Pantry is the winner in the category of community organizations.

During the virtual celebration, director of student participation Brian Shuffield said the LEAD award recipients were divided into six video chat rooms, each hosted by a WSU Chancellor or Vice-Chancellor. The rooms provided a space for the winners to be recognized and discuss their award-winning contributions to their communities.

Close-up of Morgan Atwood
Morgan atwood

Morgan Atwood, a senior at Global Campus, considers herself lucky to be part of this class of incredible student leaders. She is currently President of ASWSU Global Campus and Chair of the Student Government Council. While serving on the Strategic Planning and Effectiveness Council, she represented all WSU students by helping to write the university’s strategic plan.

“These experiences have helped me see how resilient and amazing the WSU community is,” said Atwood. “I really believe we can work together to support each other and improve the student experience. WSU has made me someone who values ​​consensus, harmony and collaboration.


Kevin E. Boling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.